This forum is archived, go to the new forum!

This is the old fritzing discussion forum. Search it for valuable information from 2009 to 2015.

Various minor UI issues

wapcaplet 4 years, 11 months ago

First off (since this is my first post here), let me say a big thank you for Fritzing. I'm a hobbyist thinking of getting a few small PCBs made, and after being very disappointed in other tools (gEDA, Qucs and others I forget), I found Fritzing and was sold instantly. I love the three linked views, beautiful SVG artwork, and intuitive drag-and drop interface. Well done!

I realize that Fritzing is still beta software, and being a software engineer myself I hope to one day lend a hand and help to make it better. Meanwhile, I just wanted to mention a few of the UI problems I've had in the 0.8.3b release:

• When inspecting a capacitor, the "capacitance" field behaves strangely; in the 0.8.1 release I could click and type "10uF" or "1.2nF", but in 0.8.3b the field often prevents me from typing unless my cursor is in just the right place, so it's really hard to enter specific values. On a side note, a resistor's "resistance" field seems to work fine; "1.5k" becomes "1.5kΩ" and so on (awesome feature by the way!)
  • In any view, when box-selecting (say) the left half of my circuit, when I drag-move the selection, most of the wire bend points stay where they are, resulting in a big mess of bend points that I have to manually straighten out. It seems like the components themselves, and any wires directly between them, are moved OK, but unconnected wire segments can't be moved on their own.
  • Sometimes the breadboard sockets aren't aligned with the grid, so parts want to snap to the spaces between holes, instead of to the holes themselves. I haven't nailed down exactly when or why; the power rails seem to be aligned slightly differently from the main prototype area. I also had this problem once when I rotated my breadboard 180 degrees.