This forum is archived, go to the new forum!

This is the old fritzing discussion forum. Search it for valuable information from 2009 to 2015.

Some IMPORTANT User Experience Tips

RemsX 3 years ago

I'm not an engineer, so I can't really say I could have done it better, but surely someone ought to be able to do it better.  The user experience when trying to layout the board design is a nightmare, and that's being kind.  It's nearly impossible to select what I'm trying to select, in order to move a wire, add a bendpoint, delete a via, etc.  When I am able to select it, it's after slowly hovering my curser over a part in just the right way, waiting an additional 2-3 seconds for it's grey selection shadow to appear... and with adding bendpoints it's not enough to just click and drag, I must then click and hold for another 3-4 seconds and then slowly drag, else it just ignores my click altogether.  

Furthermore, the autorouter totally messed up some of my previously handrouted traces, and after saving the file and reopening there was no way to revert to before the autorouting (and I had to, because autorouting failed).  It's nice that there's a feature to select auto routed traces, but you should also add the option to select auto routed vias, because I had to delete manually about 80 vias, and this was extremely tedious, as it takes anywhere from 5-30 seconds just to properly select the via since the UI is so unresponsive.